Italy World Cup rugby squad announced

AFP - [email protected] • 5 Jun, 2015 Updated Fri 5 Jun 2015 08:24 CEST
Italy World Cup rugby squad announced

Italy coach Jacques Brunel on Thursday unveiled a provisional 40-man squad for the 2015 World Cup, with an additional 10 players on stand-by, the Italian federation announced.


Captain Sergio Parisse and prop Martin Castrogiovanni, still involved in the French championship semi-finals, will join the group late after a break.

The squad will meet for the first time for a training camp near Bolzano from June 14th to July 3rd, before moving on to L'Aquila (July 12th-25th) then Fiuggi near Rome (August 2th-9th).

Brunel will announce his final 31-strong squad on August 9th. Italy warm up for the Sept 18-Nov 1 World Cup with tests against Scotland (August 22th and August 29th) in Turin and in Edinburgh, and against Wales (Sept 5th) in Cardiff.

Italy squad


Matias Aguero (Zebre), Martin Castrogiovanni (Toulon/FRA), Dario Chistolini (Zebre), Lorenzo Cittadini (Wasps/ENG), Alberto De Marchi (Sale/ENG), Michele Rizzo (Leicester/ENG), Leonardo Ghiraldini (Leicester/ENG), Davide Giazzon (Treviso), Andrea Manici (Zebre), Valerio Barnabo (Zebre), George Biagi
(Zebre), Marco Bortolami (Zebre), Joshua Furno (Newcastle/ENG), Marco Fuser (Treviso), Quintin Geldenhuys (Zebre), Robert Barbieri (Leicester/ENG), Marco Barbini (Treviso), Mauro Bergamasco (Zebre), Simone Favaro (Treviso), Francesco Minto (Treviso), Sergio Parisse (Stade Français/FRA), Samuela Vunisa (Zebre), Alessandro Zanni (Treviso)


Edoardo Gori (Treviso), Guglielmo Palazzani (Zebre), Marcello Violi (Calvisano), Kelly Haimona (Zebre), Tommaso Allan (Perpignan/FRA), Enrico Bacchin (Treviso), Tommaso Benvenuti (Bristol/ENG), Michele Campagnaro (Treviso), Angelo Esposito (Treviso), Gonzalo Garcia (Zebre), Andrea Masi
(Wasps/ENG), Luke McLean (Sale), Luca Morisi (Treviso), Simone Ragusi (Treviso), Leonardo Sarto (Zebre), Giovanbattista Venditti (Zebre), Michele Visentin (Zebre)


Tommaso Boni (Mogliano), Carlo Canna (Fiamme Oro), Leandro Cedaro (La Rochelle/FRA), Tommaso D'Apice (Zebre), Andrea De Marchi (Zebre), Paul Derbyshire (Treviso), Andrea Lovotti (Zebre), Alberto Lucchese (Treviso), Alberto Sgarbi (Treviso), Giulio Toniolatti (Zebre)


Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also