Italy and the Netherlands set to share UN Council seat

Share this article

Italian Foreign Minister Paolo Gentiloni speaks after the announcement of an agreement of the election of five non-permanent members of the Security Council on Tuesday. Photo: Kena Betancur/AFP
08:34 CEST+02:00
The UN General Assembly on Thursday elected Italy to the Security Council under a deal that will see the Netherlands take over the seat in a year.

The two countries agreed to split the two-year term on the council after five rounds of voting earlier this week ended with a tie.

Under the deal, Italy will take up the seat on January 1st and then make way for the Netherlands to take over in 2018.

The arrangement is rare but not unprecedented at the United Nations.

The last split term was in 1964-65 between what was then Czechoslovakia and Malaysia.

Italy was elected with 179 votes in the General Assembly, which has 193 member states.

During elections on Tuesday, Kazkahstan was elected to the council for the first time along with Bolivia, Ethiopia and Sweden.

Story continues below…

The newly-elected countries will take their place alongside the five permanent council members - Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States.

The other five non-permanent members are: Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay.

Share this article

From our sponsors

Last chance to vote absentee in the US elections

Election Day in the U.S. is less than a month away, and time is running out for Americans living overseas to vote absentee. Here's what to do before it’s too late.


Popular articles