UK drops quarantine for Italy and other European countries

UK drops quarantine for Italy and other European countries
Passengers arriving at London's Heathrow Airport on July 10th. Photo: Daniel Leal-Olivas/AFP
The UK government has lifted its compulsory quarantine requirement for arrivals in England from “lower risk countries” including Italy, Spain, Germany and France.

As announced last week, from July 10th travellers arriving in England from approved countries no longer need to self-isolate for 14 days upon arrival, though restrictions may continue to apply for those arriving in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

The exemption applies to all travel to England, by air, train, ferry, coach, or any other route.

READ ALSO: Italy's latest travel rules, explained

The full list of approved countries includes travellers from Italy, Spain, Germany, France, Norway, Greece, the Netherlands, Finland, Belgium and Norway – but not Portugal or Sweden given their recent spike in cases.

These countries have “reciprocal arrangements” in place, meaning travellers from the UK will not have to quarantine on arrival there either.

Italy no longer requires any visitors from the UK, EU or Schengen Zone to quarantine.

Some 59 countries deemed low or very low risk are now exempt from the UK's blanket quarantine rules.

The full list available here is:

The UK’s Department for Transport also said that the devolved administrations in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland “will set out their own approach”, meaning the quarantine lifting applied to England alone and that passengers arriving in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland “should ensure they follow the laws and guidance which applies there”.

For more information, see the UK government's travel guidelines.

Member comments

Become a Member to leave a comment.Or login here.