Editions:  Austria · Denmark · France · Germany · Italy · Norway · Spain · Sweden · Switzerland
Advertisement

Noticeboard

An American Family in Italy

Ad type: Announcement
Location:
Date added: 16 Nov 2017

‟A fun and fascinating read sprinkled with humor, history and the conundrums of living in a foreign speaking country.” That's how author E.C. Murray describes ‟An American Family in Italy: Living la dolce vita without permission.”

This fast-paced and lively book, released in July, describes the adventures of teacher Paul Spadoni, who leaves his comfortable American life in exchange for a year of living and working in Italy. Spadoni booked a flight with no definite idea of where he would live or work, no visa and no work permit, packing along his wife and two distinctly unenthusiastic teen daughters.

Yet somehow his family learned to work, study, speak, shop and survive in a foreign land while stumbling their way through the delicious process of learning to live like Italians—all ‟without papers.” Along the way, the author impersonated an Italian cousin, got his family lost innumerable times and met his own personal version of the godfather—the man who hired him and gave him an apartment. The teen daughters struggled to find themselves while attending school by day and exploring young adult nightclubs into the early morning hours—while family members fought to work out their differences. In the tradition of Under the Tuscan Sun and Italian Neighbors, this best-selling Italian travel memoir appeals to families of all ages seeking adventure, challenge, a fresh start or a chance to embrace their inner Italian.

An American Family in Italy is available in print or e-book on Amazon. Spadoni also writes a popular blog ‟Living (with) abroad in Tuscany.”

Conditions of Use

« Back to Noticeboard

Avoid scams and fraud by acting with care! Beware any arrangement involving Western Union, Moneygram, wire transfer, or a landlord/owner who is out of the country or cannot meet you in person. More info »

Advertisement
Jobs
Click here to start your job search
Advertisement
Advertisement

Popular articles

Advertisement
Advertisement